PGA and VP Election & other topics – PGA Spokesperson Briefing
Production Date
Video Length
Asset Language
Speaker Name
Speaker Role
Speaker Affiliation
Corporate Name
Briefing by Paulina Kubiak, Spokesperson for the President of the 76th Session of the General Assembly.

The General Assembly this morning elected five non-permanent members of the Security Council for the 2023/2024 terms. The new Security Council members are: Ecuador with 190 votes, Japan with 184 votes, Malta with 185 votes, Mozambique with 192 votes, Switzerland with 187 votes.

The General Assembly today also discussed the Security Council report for 2021. 

Prior to the General Assembly meeting, President Shahid held a Holhuashi Dialogue.

And then looking to the rest of the week… This afternoon, as mandated, by the Declarations of Commitment on HIV/AIDS, the UN General Assembly will convene its 2022 Annual Review of HIV/AIDS. 

And then tomorrow, 10 June… In the morning, the General Assembly will elect members of the Economic and Social Council. That will be followed by action on a draft resolution related to multilingualism. Also tomorrow, we expect the continuation of the Veto Initiative debate that started yesterday. There are still at least 27 speakers on the list, starting with Uruguay.