(8th meeting) Special Committee of 24 (Decolonization Committee) - Resumed session, 14-25 June 2021
Production Date
Video Length
Asset Language
Subject Topical

The Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence of Colonial Countries and Peoples, also known as the Special Committee on Decolonization, or C-24 was established in 1961 by the General Assembly (GA), as its subsidiary organ devoted to the issue of decolonization.


The C-24 annually reviews the list of Non-Self-Governing Territories to which the Declaration is applicable. It also hears statements from representatives of the Non-Self-Governing Territories at its annual sessions, dispatches visiting missions to Non-Self-Governing Territories and annually organizes regional seminars.