(Day 4) General Debate - General Assembly, 77th session
Production Date
Video Length
Asset Language
Subject Topical

The general debate of the seventy-seventh session of the General Assembly will be held from Tuesday, 20 September, to Saturday, 24 September, and on Monday, 26 September 2022, pursuant to resolution 57/301. World leaders will discuss global issues.


The theme "A watershed moment: transformative solutions to interlocking
challenges" has been proposed for the general debate at the seventy-seventh session,
pursuant to resolution 58/126 (annex).

Held at the beginning of each session of the General Assembly, the General Debate provides an opportunity for world leaders to deliver a statement on global issues. 

The UN Secretary-General, António Guterres, will introduce the annual report (A/77/1) on the activities of the Organization at the opening of the general debate.

List of Speakers:Timor-Leste

His Excellency José Ramos-Horta

President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste



His Excellency Nikenike Vurobaravu

President of the Republic of Vanuatu


Burkina Faso

His Excellency Paul Henri Sandaogo Damiba

President of Faso, Head of State, President of the Council of Ministers of Burkina Faso



His Excellency Nicos Anastasiades

President of the Republic of Cyprus


State of Palestine

His Excellency Mahmoud Abbas

President of the State of Palestine


European Union

His Excellency Charles Michel

President of the European Council of the European Union



His Excellency Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama

Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs, Sugar Industry, Foreign Affairs and Forestry of the Republic of Fiji



His Excellency Xavier Bettel

Prime Minister, Minister of State, Minister for Communications and Media and Minister for Religious Affairs of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg



His Excellency Mark Rutte

Prime Minister and Minister for General Affairs of the Kingdom of the Netherlands


Solomon Islands

His Excellency Manasseh Sogavare

Prime Minister of Solomon Islands


New Zealand

Her Excellency Jacinda Ardern

Prime Minister and Minister for National Security and Intelligence, Child Poverty Reduction, and Ministerial Services of New Zealand



His Excellency Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif

Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan



His Excellency Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen

Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia


Saint Lucia

His Excellency Philip Joseph Pierre

Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Economic Development and Youth Economy of Saint Lucia



His Excellency Xavier Espot Zamora

Head of Government of the Principality of Andorra



His Excellency Alexander de Croo

Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Belgium



His Excellency Pravind Kumar Jugnauth

Prime Minister, Minister for Defense, Home Affairs, and External Communications, Minister for Rodrigues, Outer Islands, and Territorial Integrity of the Republic of Mauritius



His Excellency Siaosi 'Ofakivahafolau Sovaleni

Prime Minister and Minister for Education and Training, Minister for Police, Fire Services and Emergency Services, and Minister for His Majesty's Armed Forces of the Kingdom of Tonga



His Excellency Kyriakos Mitsotakis

Prime Minister of the Hellenic Republic


Antigua and Barbuda

His Excellency Gaston Alphonso Browne

Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Corporate Governance and Public Private Partnerships of Antigua and Barbuda



His Excellency Mustafa Al-Kadhimi

Prime Minister of the Republic of Iraq



His Excellency Ismail Sabri Yaakob

Prime Minister of Malaysia



Her Excellency Sheikh Hasina

Prime Minister of the People's Republic of Bangladesh



His Excellency Andrej Plenković

Prime Minister of the Republic of Croatia



Her Excellency Fiame Naomi Mataafa

Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade of the Independent State of Samoa



His Excellency Dritan Abazović

Prime Minister of Montenegro


Saint Kitts and Nevis

His Excellency Terrance Micheal Drew

Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, National Security and Immigration, Health, and Social Security of Saint Kitts and Nevis



His Excellency John Briceño

Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Economic Development and Investment of Belize



His Excellency Kausea Natano

Prime Minister of Tuvalu


His Excellency Abdulla Shahid

Minister for Foreign Affairs



Her Excellency Penny Wong

Minister for Foreign Affairs


Equatorial Guinea

His Excellency Simeón Oyono Esono Angue

Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation



Her Excellency Dominique Hasler

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Education, and Sport



His Excellency Robert Dussey

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Regional Integration and Togolese Abroad



Her Excellency Awatif Altidjani Ahmed Koiboro

Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, African Integration and Chadians Abroad