Panel Discussion on Menstrual Hygiene Management - 15th Meeting, 50th Regular Session of Human Rights Council
Production Date
Video Length
Asset Language

Panel discussion on menstrual hygiene management, human rights and gender equality


Objectives: The panel discussion provides an opportunity to discuss the international human rights obligations of States related to menstrual hygiene management, human rights and gender equality, including challenges and best practices and latest developments on the topic.  

Chair: H.E. Ms. Katharina Stasch, Vice-President of the Human Rights Council

Opening statements:    
• Ms. Michelle Bachelet, High Commissioner for Human Rights
• Dr. Natalia Kanem, Executive Director of the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

• Ms. Vanessa Zammar, Youth representative and co-founder of Jeyetna   
• Ms. Melissa Upreti, Chair, Working Group on discrimination against women and girls
• Mr. Thorsten Kiefer, Founder and CEO, WASH United
• Ms. Shoki Tshabalala, Deputy Director-General, Department of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities of South Africa

  • Gabon, Ms. Mireille Sarah Nzenze
  • Germany, Ms. Luise Amtsberg
  • Finland (on behalf of a group of countries), Ms. Kirsti Kauppi
  • Luxembourg (on behalf of a group of countries), Ms. Marc Bichler
  • Côte d'Ivoire (on behalf of Group of African States), Mr. Kouadio Adjoumani
  • Bahamas (on behalf of a group of countries), Ms. Patricia Ann Hermanns
  • Belgium (on behalf of States members of the International Organization of la Francophonie), Mr. Marc Pecsteen
  • European Union, Ms. Linda Ekholm
  • Israel, Ms. Meirav Eilon Shahar
  • Sierra Leone, Mr. Samuel Saffa
  • Netherlands, Ms. Simone Gerrits
  • Senegal, Ms. Madina Tall
  • Sikh Human Rights Group, Ms. Bethan Walters
  • Center for Reproductive Rights, Inc., The, Ms. Paola Salwan Daher
  • Terre Des Hommes Federation, Ms. Victorlyn Zarnahn Pennue (Joint Statement)
  • Portugal, Mr. Miguel Alegre
  • South Africa, Mr. Mxolisi Nkosi
  • Costa Rica, Mr. Roberto Céspedes Gómez
  • World Health Organization, Mr. Venkatraman Chandra-Mouli
  • Spain, Ms. Aurora Díaz-Rato Revuelta
  • Mauritius, Ms. Tejaswinee Burumdoyal
  • Cambodia, Mr. Sokkhoeurn An
  • Vanuatu, Ms. Antonella Picone
  • United Nations Children's Fund, Ms. Anne Grandjean
  • Nepal, Ms. Chandika Pokhrel
  • France, Ms. Emmanuelle Lachaussée
  • Cameroon, Ms. Nadjma Adoum Gargoum
  • Swedish Association for Sexuality Education, Ms. Elene Kaikhosroshvili
  • Plan International, Inc., Ms. Malin Hundsnes
  • International Planned Parenthood Federation, Ms. Thushara Agus
  • UNFPA, Ms. Monique Ferro
  • Youth representative and co-founder of Jeyetna, Ms. Vanessa Zammar
  • Chair, Working Group on Discrimination Against Women and Girls, Ms. Melissa Upreti
  • Deputy Director General, Department of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities of South Africa, Ms. Shoki Tshabalala
  • Founder and CEO, WASH United, Mr. Thorsten Kiefer