2nd Plenary - 2022 UN Ocean Conference
Production Date
Video Length
Asset Language
Subject Topical
2nd Plenary

Humanity has been waging a war against nature and the world's ocean — the lungs of our planet and the main source of food for more than a billion people — is now facing a multidimensional crisis driven by climate change, overfishing, habitat loss and pollution.

The UN Ocean Conference in Lisbon, Portugal, 27 June to 1 July 2022, co-organized by the Governments of Portugal and Kenya, is expected to deliver science-driven innovations and solutions to respond to this environmental emergency.

With the expected participation of over 5000 ocean advocates, including world leaders, entrepreneurs, youth, influencers and scientists, the Conference will ignite fresh impetus for advancing Sustainable Development Goal 14 – at the heart of global action to protect life under water. Concrete measures will be adopted to build ocean resilience and more sustainable communities, underpinned by a new wave of commitments — following the over 1,300 commitments made at the 2017 Ocean Conference — to restore the ocean's health.


  • Cabo Verde - José Ulisses Correia e Silva, Prime Minister of the Republic of Cabo Verde
  • Morocco(on behalf of the Group of African States) - Mohammed Sadiki, Minister of Agriculture, Maritime Fisheries, Rural Development and Water and Forests of Marroco
  • Namibia - Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Prime Minister of the Republic of Namibia
  • Tonga - Siaosi Sovaleni, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Tonga
  • Sao Tome and Principe - Jorge Lopes Bom Jesus, Prime Minister of the Democratic Republic os Sao Tome and Principe
  • Kenya - Raychelle Omamo, Cabinet Secretary for Foreign Affairs of Kenya
  • Qatar - Dr Faleh bin Nasser bin Ahmed Al Thani, Minister of Environment and Climate Change of Qatar
  • Belize - John Briceno, Prime Minister and Minister of Economic Development and Investment of Belize
  • Singapore - Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Singapore
  • Peru - Cesar Landa, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Peru
  • Thailand - Varawut Silpa-Archa, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment of Thailand
  • New Zealand - David Parker, Minister for Oceans and Fisheries of New Zealand
  • Indonisia - Sakti Wahyu Trenggono, Minister of Marine Affairs and Fisheries of Indonesia
  • Timor-Leste - Xanana Gusmão, State Counselor, Chief Negotiator for Maritime Boundaries, and the Special Representative for Blue Economy of Timor-Leste
  • Seychelles - Flavien Joubert, Minister for Agriculture, Climate Change and Environment of Seychelles
  • United States - John Kerry, Special Presidential Envoy for Climate of the United States
  • China - Zhanhai Zhang, Special Envoy of the Government of China
  • India - Dr. Jitendra Singh, Minister of Earth Sciences of India
  • Norway - Espen Barth Eide, Minister of Climate and the Environment of Norway
  • Argentina - Juan Cabandie, Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development of Argentina